Gemstone grading report (certificate)

What can one learn from the contents of a gemmological certificate? Reading and interpreting the contents of a gemmological certificate for the gemstone?

EGL Gemmological Certificate. Photo by Shechter Diamonds


From the first glimpse, trying to understand the contents of the gemmological certificate might seem like a highly complex task. However, once we know what stands behind those words and figures, the whole process appears much easier.  When buying an item of jewellery, it makes sense to spend some time studying the accompanying gemmological certificate.  This is the only way you can make sure that the diamond is worth its stated value and that the price is just for the diamond jewellery piece you are planning to purchase.



In this article we will review the main details concerning reading and interpreting the contents of a gemmological certificate. As an example, we shall look at the EGL issued certificate. This certificate is only one of many recognized gemmological certificates currently issued in different countries of the world. These certificates can differ in design but they all contain pretty much the same information.

The certificate in our example consists of seven sections. Each section contains the following information.


1)       The first section in the gemmological certificate tells us the most important information. This is an equivalent of a passport for the diamond. The main properties of the diamond that affect its value are described here. From reading the first section, you can learn whether the diamond is of a natural origin or if it is laboratory created or artificially enhanced. Also, here you can learn about its cutting style (shape), colour, clarity grade and, which is the most important, the cut grade of the diamond.


2)       The second section reveals the additional information about the diamond. The features presented here are considered to be of a lesser importance and, therefore, they have less significance for the value of the diamond. Such features include the size, the finish (polish), the symmetry and the fluorescence of the gemstone.

3)       The third section identifies whether the diamond is "a conflict" one (not applicable in our example) together with its cut grade category (in our example it is <excellent, ideal>, which is the highest possible category for a diamond cut grade).

4)       The fourth section of the certificate familiarizes us with the "inner characteristics" of the diamond which enables us to gain understanding about its inclusions noticeable at 10 X magnification. If the specified level of magnification does not make the inclusion noticeable, the certificate will not list it.

5)       The fifth section is the diagram of the diamond proportions. If we look carefully, we can see some percentage figure stated under the diagram. In our case the figure is 100%. It tells us the ratio. The diamond in our example has the ideal proportions. Typically, it means that such diamond is of a very high brilliance.

6)       The sixth section shows us an image portraying the light reflection degree of the diamond (on the left). The light reflected by the diamond has three components to it which are all represented in the picture. It is important to know that this image tells us about the brilliance ability of the diamond. The red mark in each light component column means that this diamond has an excellent degree of light reflection, in other words, it sparkles very intensely.

7)       The seventh section of the gemmological certificate contains the table with colour and clarity grade scales. This table allows us to see the degree, to which the properties of a particular diamond in your jewellery item are matched or mismatched with the properties of another diamond in the same jewellery piece, for example. Here you can also gain an understanding of the information from the first section, such as VS2 clarity grade and F colour grade.


Published by Shechter Diamonds, Uvedream Rus:,

ЮвеНовости:
Сертификат камня

Как разобраться в содержании гемеллологического сертификата? Особенностей чтения и понимания геммологического сертификата камня

Геммологический сертификат EGL Фото: Shechter Diamonds

 

На первый взгляд попытка разобраться в содержании геммологического сертификата может показаться чем-то <не для средних умов>. Однако если знаешь, что стоит за теми или иными словами и цифрами, оказывается, что все не так уж и сложно. Покупая ювелирное украшение, есть смысл потратить немного времени на изучение геммологического сертификата. Ведь только так можно убедиться в том, что цена бриллиант вполне корректна и что покупаемое вами бриллиантовое украшение действительно стоит тех денег, которые вы за него платите.

 

В нашей статье мы подробно коснемся основных особенностей чтения и понимания геммологического сертификата. В качестве примера мы взяли сертификат, выдаваемый компанией EGL. Он всего лишь один из множества действительных геммологических сертификатов, выдаваемых в разных странах мира. Они могут несколько отличаться своим внешним оформлением, однако их суть, как правило, одна и та же.

 

Взятый нами для примера геммологический сертификат состоит из семи разделов. Попробуем дать пояснения по каждому их них.

 

1)       В первом разделе геммологического сертификата приводится самая значимая информация. Это своего рода паспорт бриллианта. Здесь изложены самые главные характеристики бриллианта - те самые, которые влияют на его цену. Прочитав первый раздел, вы узнаете, является ли бриллиант натуральным, или он выращен в лаборатории, а, может, прошел какую-то искусственную обработку, какие у него форма огранки, цвет, группа чистоты и - самое важное - качество огранки.

 

2)       Во втором разделе приводится дополнительная информация о бриллианте. С точки зрения влияния на цену бриллианта указываемые здесь параметры считаются менее важными: размеры, уровень финишной обработки, симметрия и уровень флюоресценции.

 

3)       В третьем разделе сообщается информация о том, не относится ли бриллиант к так называемым <конфликтным> (в нашем случае не относится) и какая группа качества огранки ему присвоена (в нашем случае это <превосходная, идеальная> - наивысшая оценка качества огранки бриллианта).

 

4)       Четвертый раздел геммологического сертификата - карта <внутреннего мира> бриллианта, призванная дать представление об имеющихся у него внутренних дефектах, заметных в ходе осмотра при 10-кратном увеличении. Если при указанной степени увеличения дефект не заметен, информация о нем в сертификат не включается.

 

5)       Пятый раздел - диаграмма пропорций бриллианта. Если посмотреть внимательно, то можно увидеть, что под диаграммой указана какая-то величина в процентах. В нашем случае - 100 %. Это степень пропорциональности. У рассматриваемого бриллианта пропорции идеальные. Как правило, это означает, что блеск бриллианта будет очень сильным.

 

6)       В шестом разделе располагается иллюстрация, на которой показан уровень отражения света данным бриллиантом. Отражаемый бриллиантом свет разделен на три типа, и все из них указаны на этой иллюстрации. Важно то, что именно по этой иллюстрации можно получить представление о силе блеска бриллианта. Красная метка в каждой графе типа света говорит нам о том, что данный бриллиант обладает превосходной степенью отражения света, т.е. он очень сильно блестит.

 

7)       В седьмом разделе геммологического сертификата содержится таблица со шкалами групп цвета и групп чистоты. По этой таблице можно понять, насколько совпадают или отличаются параметры данного бриллианта в купленном вами украшении, например, по сравнению с другим бриллиантом в этом же украшении. Здесь же вы получите представление о том, что означают такие указанные в первом разделе данные, как группа чистоты VS2 и группа цвета F.

 

 

Материал предоставлен компанией Shechter Diamonds, перевод Ювелирный Рай (Uvedream Rus):  http://www.shechterdiamonds.com, www.uvedream.ru

 

 
SiteHeart